New Beginnings

Though the winter has been mild and I dare say even warm, I can’t help but be excited by the spring that is just around the corner. Spring is a time of new beginnings, and for me, this feel appropriate. It was one year ago this week, that I left the field of education, and embarked on a journey into the field of wellness. Now in the throes of starting my own practice for Massage Therapy, and continuing to deepen my knowledge in the art and science of Yoga, I feel my own new beginning. I feel blessed and grateful for this opportunity to follow my unique path, to follow my heart.

I have always thought of myself as a pretty free spirited, out of the box kind of person. And my actions have always mirrored this perception. From attending art school, and the many schools after, attempting to find a career that “fit” me. To ditching that career only a few years later and starting something new. This journey has been interesting to say the least. I never would have predicted the many paths I have been brought down. But I am glad to have walked, run, danced down all of them.

There are a few things I am finding helpful during this transition and period of building, that I would like to share with you. As humans we are constantly in evolution. Constantly growing and changing, experiencing births and re-births. These are things I have found keep me steady and calm during the transitions, maybe they will help you too.

* Create a grounding practice. Whether it be going for a walk (shoes optional) or just getting out in nature, or stepping onto your yoga mat and spreading your toes. Create a ritual that keeps you connected to the earth.

*Take time for reflection. Write in a journal, meditate, talk to a close friend, or simply sit still with yourself for awhile. In times of change we need to connect to our inner voice and allow it to lead us.

*Take care of your body. Eat well, exercise, receive bodywork, and get plenty of sleep. Of course these are always important healthy practices to strive for, but during transitions we need to nurture ourselves well.

*Practice Gratitude. Look back at all the events, people, choices that have helped to get you to where you are today, and honor them. You are perfect exactly the way you are, so be grateful for all that has helped to shape you.

I know that spring will bring with it a chance for renewal and re-birth. Stay tuned for more thoughts on how to make the most of this time of year and the changes it can cultivate in your life. I wish all of you love and light on this journey. I am so grateful to be sharing it with you.

~Jozie

Leave a Reply

