Plan Your Wellness

We all want wellness. When I use my favorite online dictionary resource to define this word here’s what comes up:

Wellness (noun)

1.the quality or state of being healthy in body and mind, especially as the result of deliberate effort.
2.an approach to healthcare that emphasizes preventing illness and prolonging life, as opposed to emphasizing treating diseases.
I like the first definition best. I especially like the part about “deliberate effort”. This puts the process of being well in our hands, in your hands my friends.

I recently had the opportunity to visit a place I consider an integral part to my plan for wellness, the Kripalu Yoga Center. I stayed for a few days of R&R, or retreat and renewal. I received lots of bodywork, including Deep Tissue Massage and Ayurvedic Massage. I took at least two yoga classes per day, and ate lots of yummy, healthy food. All of these practices are part of my wellness plan, as is a trip to Kripalu about once per year.

Now I know everybody loves a little R&R, but it’s not always possible to go away to amazing Yoga retreat centers, or fancy spas. Lucky for us there are amazing Yoga centers, and amazing Massage services right here in our home towns. 🙂 This is where the fun comes in.

How do you deliberately create your wellness?

Do you take the time for a weekly yoga class?

Do you have regular massage or bodywork?

Do you go outside and enjoy nature often?

Do you cook delicious meals that feed and nurture your body and soul?

Do you need inspiration and/or guidance in doing any or all of these things?

That’s where I am here to help. I have decided to dedicate my life to helping you achieve your wellness. But I can’t do it on my own, I need you. More importantly you need you. You can make the decision to be well, and then use deliberate effort to obtain that state of health in body and mind. Here’s the first step:

1. Sit down in a quiet, comfortable place where you won’t be disturbed for a few moments. Close your eyes and feel into your body. No really, feel it. What does it need? Listen to what your body is asking of you, and then make a plan to give it what it asks for. Start by doing this once, then maybe do it once a week, then do it once a day. Make a plan for your wellness.

And if that plan includes some yoga or massage, then call me. I’m happy to help, and to hear about what your plan for wellness is.

Leave a comment, or share your plan with me on facebook. Here’s to a happy, healthy you!

 

Leave a Reply

