Family and Friends

Even though at times miles make people seem far away, the truth is that the people you carry close in your heart are never far. Miles are simply numbers that pass by on your odometer. Distance is created by people, by lack of communication. Miles can be traveled, distance is a space that can be difficult to traverse. The world is a big place, the human heart even bigger.

Chew on that for a bit. In the meantime let me tell you that the past two days have been amazing. Seeing Pete’s brother, and my sister and her family, seeing old friends, and sharing time with the new who have come into this world, just makes me so grateful. Grateful to have amazing people in my life.
When my sister first moved out here to Wisconsin, I was really sad. I was afraid that the physical distance would make our relationship somehow less. But really, it’s not the amount of time we spend together that makes a relationship strong, it’s the quality. It’s the little things that are said or done in simple yet profound moments. It’s being able to share honestly and openly about anything. And not just in this relationship, but in any. The past few months have offered me many lessons in relationships. Lessons in balancing work and play, in deciphering love and interest, spark, and something much deeper. All I can say is that I am grateful for these lessons, for all of the relationships I have in my life. I feel grateful that I can honestly say there is not one relationship that does somehow enrich my life right now. Wow. What an amazing feeling. My heart feels so big, so wide open.

So thank you, to all of you who may be taking the time to read this. You make my life better, and I really enjoy sharing this life with you. So even though I may be far from you in miles, I am keeping you all close in my big, wide open heart.

20120806-233749.jpg

2 thoughts on “Family and Friends

Leave a Reply

