Finding Rhythm

It’s been about 4 weeks since Everett was born.

That means it’s been about 4 weeks since I have gotten more than 3 consecutive hours of sleep.

I can’t complain though, really, Everett is an exceptionally good baby. And he sleeps pretty well. I’m learning to take naps. In fact I should probably be napping right now. But quite frankly, I’m kinda bored of naps.

I have been wanting to get on here and write. In fact many topics have floated through my head. But just as quickly as they float in, they float out. I’m going to give you a list of what I want to write about, so that I can remember, and you can hold me accountable for getting it done.

1. When your love for deep tissue is too deep

2. How often should I get a massage?

3. Mother as the Midline

4. 10 Minute Yoga, and why you need it

Ok, but this post is about finding rhythm. That’s what these beginning weeks of life are all about. A baby’s life outside of the womb in many ways seeks to recreate the very environment they came from. People joke that all you do in the first few weeks after having a baby is nurse, sleep, and deal with poop. I would add, that you also bounce. Everett loves to be bounced.IMG_2484

But really these things make up a basic rhythm for all of us. In my Yoga Lifestyle Course, I teach about daily rhythm, and really it breaks down to nursing (eating), sleeping, bouncing (movement), and poop. This is a rhythm that we all need to live and thrive.

I have set an 8:30pm bedtime routine in place. Not so much for Everett, but for me. If I am in bed and sleeping by 10, I can probably get a good 6 hours in, at least. We also have a morning routine, which varies in timing depending on how late baby E lets us sleep. Whenever he is awake, Pete gets up with him and lets me shower and do my morning routine (which right now includes a 5 minute massage, getting dressed, and maybe 10 minutes of yoga). Then we work in breakfast around the morning nursing demands. This is the basis of our rhythm.

We started establishing the rhythm with sleep, because when you have a newborn, sleep is like gold. Now we are working on meals. Regularly timed, home cooked, healthy meals. Establishing this routine takes care of the next one, pooping. The last rhythm we will work on is our bounce. Pete likes to mountain bike. I like to hike and yoge (that’s right yoge, it’s not a typo, it’s my verb form of yoga, pronounced with a long O). We will try to establish regular, set times when we can each get our bounce on.

So there you go, that’s our life right now. Establishing rhythm for ourselves, so our little one can have a rhythm too, because that makes us all feel better.

Do you need more rhythm in your life? Here’s some steps to follow.

1. Get your sleep on track. Go to bed early, get up early.

2. Eat at regular times of day. Breakfast by 8am, lunch from 12-2, dinner before 8pm.

3. Poop. Everyday. Preferably in the morning.

4. Get your bounce on. Whatever movement you like to do, do it. Schedule it in.

When you have a rhythm life becomes easier. Your needs are met, your energy is freed up for more important things. Like doubling your brain size. That’s what Everett is doing. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Finding Rhythm

  1. Everett is a handsome little boy and so lucky to have such good parents. I love reading your messages, Jozie. They help to center me. Thank you!
    Love,
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

